Quick Links & Popular Tools


Awards of Distinction

The Huron Alumni Awards of Distinction have been established to recognize, honour and celebrate members of the Huron University College Alumni Association for outstanding professional achievement, community contribution and/or service.

The accomplishments of Huron alumni around the world bring credit and recognition to the Huron University College. In turn, the Alumni Awards of Distinction identify and offer recognition to alumni for outstanding achievement.
  • Nominate a Huron alum for future alumni awards

  • Your insight, knowledge and appreciation of fellow alumni achievements are indispensable elements in assisting Huron in recognizing the achievements of our alumni. We hope that you will nominate an eligible person/s you believe deserves to be recognized.

    Available awards

    Alumni Award of Distinction for outstanding achievement in a professional field or outstanding community volunteer service, enriching the lives of others through generous gifts of time and talent.

    Alumni Award of Distinction for outstanding volunteer service to Huron University College.

    Young Alumni Award (under 35 years of age) for outstanding professional achievement, community service or volunteer contribution to Huron University College.


    All members of the Huron alumni association are eligible, with the exception of members of the nomination committee and members of the Alumni Board of Directors.

    The nominee must be available to attend the presentation at Homecoming.

    Nomination Process

    To access a nomination form (.pdf format)

    Once completed, forms can be faxed to University Advancement at 519.438.5226, or emailed to:  kstankev@huron.uwo.ca

    Kristina Stankevich
    Director of Development
    Huron University College
    1349 Western Rd
    London ON N6G 1H3

    Forms can also be obtained by contacting University Advancement at 519.438.7224 ext. 214.

    All nomination forms will be treated in confidence.

    2017 Selection Process

    A subcommittee of the Huron Alumni Board of Directors will review the nominations. All nominees will be informed of the committee's decision by July 1, 2017.

  • Past recipients of the Alumni Award of Distinction

  • 2017 Recipients:

    W. Alfred Apps '79
    Adam Deif '04
    Chris O'Neill '95
    Spenser Sandor '12

    2016 Recipient:

    Richard Lucas '69

    2014 Recipient:

    Prof. Richard H. McLaren '68

    2010 Recipients:

    James E. Carr '67
    Sarah Ghabrial '06
    Dilani Mohan '06
    Laurel Mitchell '07
    Sheetal Rawal '06
    William Webster '69

    2009 Recipient:

    Janice MacKinnon '69

    2008 Recipients:

    Jeff Aarssen '80
    Barry Grant '66
    Nestor Prisco

    2007 Recipients:

    The Three Cantors -
    The Rev. Canon William Cliff '92
    The Rev. Canon David Pickett '89
    Mr. Angus Sinclair
    The Very Rev. Peter Wall '89

    2006 Recipients:

    The Most Rev. Terence E. Finlay '62
    Kelly Hansen '85

    2005 Recipients:

    Susan (Taylor) Clarke '66
    Christopher McCreery '98
    Helen (Klassen) Moore '62

    2004 Recipients:

    Kelly Meighen '71
    Charles Pielsticker '61

    William A. G. Simpson '99